21 Nov 13 California Traffic Laws You Should Know
Did you know that in Delaware, it is unlawful to change your clothes in your vehicle? Or that a city in Georgia prohibits cars from driving through playgrounds. And if you visit Hawaii, did you know that while you must wear a seatbelt inside of your vehicle, if you’re over 12, you can ride in the bed of a pickup with no safety restrictions. With each state comes some strange laws– ones that seem random, dated, or even dangerous. However, most aim to keep us safe. And since traffic laws can change from state to state, make sure you know what’s allowed and what’s not here in the Golden State.
13 California Traffic Laws to Know:
- You must drive with your driver’s license. If you’re caught without it or with a suspended/revoked license, you may be arrested or get your car taken away.
- Look out for cyclists. Be sure to give them at least three feet of space at all times.
- Like anywhere, it is illegal to drive without a fastened seat belt. However, in California, it’s also illegal to drive unless all passengers are secured by a seat belt. And if a passenger 16 years or younger is found without a seat belt, the driver will be held accountable.
- It is not allowed to smoke in your car if anyone 18 or younger is in your vehicle.
- If you’re over 18, you can not touch your phone for any reason, except in an emergency. A quick swipe or tap is allowed only when the phone is mounted on the dashboard.
- And if you’re under 18, you cannot use a handheld or hands-free device while driving, except in an emergency.
- If you’re visiting California, welcome! And know that you’re able to drive without a California license as long as you have a valid license from your home state. Then, once you’ve fallen in love with the endless sunshine and coastal views and decide to become a CA resident, you’ll have ten days to acquire a California license.
- If you drive a motorcycle, lane splitting is allowed.
- Also, if you drive a motorcycle, you and your passengers must wear a helmet.
- Some passenger buses are equipped with seat belts. And if they are, you’ll be expected to use them properly.
- As fun as it looks, you can’t ride a bike or motorcycle (or coaster, roller skates, sled, or toy vehicle) while being towed by a car.
- Ever wondered why an intersection’s lights flash either red or yellow rather than cycling through their regular pattern? This simply means that they’ve effectively been turned off. Red lights indicate that you should treat it as a stop sign, while yellow should be treated as a yield sign.
- If you’re involved in an accident that renders any injury, death, or at least $750 worth of damage, you must file a report within ten days of the accident.
If you’re new to the area or simply need a refresher on California laws, make sure to brush up on both CA-specific and nonspecific traffic laws. Knowing the rules of the road is your first step to safe driving. In recognition of common driving mistakes, however, be aware of what to do in the case of an accident. And be sure to reach out for legal assistance in the instance of an accident. We at the Law Offices of William D. Shapiro are prepared to advocate for you in this challenging time of need. Reach out today for expert legal counsel and compassionate attornies.